Welcome to the Cadillac V-Series Forums!

Vibration When Braking (Problem and Fix)

jodakid69

Seasoned Member
V-Series Cadillac(s)?
2022 CT4-V BW
DISCLOSURE:
Before I proceed, in full disclosure I am not a mechanic. I am providing a few limited data points, reporting on my vehicle's performance, and providing my personal analysis regarding the performance of my vehicle's brake system performance. The braking system of your vehicle is a very important safety system and I am NOT providing guidance regarding how you should maintain the braking system of your vehicle. GM which is the OEM of Cadillac CT4V-BW and CT5V-BW vehicles does not recommend the use of "non-GM approved" brake pads or rotors for your vehicle.

BRAKE VIBRATION ISSUE:
My CT4V-BW developed moderate vibration during light to moderate braking at the steering wheel. This situation started after the vehicle had about 4250 miles. During the prior 1000 miles, the vehicle had been used in 4 track day sessions that included heavy braking from speeds of 125MPH to 135MPH. After 3 track days using the stock pads, the front braking had developed a pulsation/vibration at the steering wheel during light to moderate braking. The vibration increased after my 4th track day which was only a half day. The vibration remained after I installed two new front tires - both street driving and during my 5th track day session. In total, I had the stock brake pads in use for 5700 miles which included 5 track days.

Upon inquiry, I was informed by two Cadillac dealers, and the Chevy Dealer that performed a brake pad replacement, that I likely needed new rotors. My intent was to replace the rotors after a total of 10 track days.
View attachment 20010 View attachment 20011

BRAKE PERFORMANCE REPORT: