Welcome to the Cadillac V-Series Forums!

2nd gear 6MT

Dalyons03

Seasoned Member
Curious if others find second gear hard to engage compared to others? I grind second sometimes trying to get it in with clutch fully engaged. I think I have it and when I release clutch it pops out with a grind. Also have had a few cases where when I go second to neutral full clutch in it grinds. I have been driving manuals for many years and haven’t seen this before. It has done it on a slow second to neutral. If I move quick no issue at all.

4BW fyi

5BW no issues with 2nd or any other gears. Currently at 1500 miles and just as smooth as the first day. Located in Arizona so car never gets very cold

Curious if others find second gear hard to engage compared to others? I grind second sometimes trying to get it in with clutch fully engaged. I think I have it and when I release clutch it pops out with a grind. Also have had a few cases where when I go second to neutral full clutch in it grinds. I have been driving manuals for many years and haven’t seen this before. It has done it on a slow second to neutral. If I move quick no issue at all.

4BW fyi

Yeah, pretty typical of Tremec manual transmissions when the fluid is still cold. It feels similar to the Camaro 1LE and C5 and C7 Corvettes I have owned. Once it warms up though it should be smooth. If you are grinding once it is warmed up then something is wrong.

Yeah, pretty typical of Tremec manual transmissions when the fluid is still cold. It feels similar to the Camaro 1LE and C5 and C7 Corvettes I have owned. Once it warms up though it should be smooth. If you are grinding once it is warmed up then something is wrong.
Thanks for this, will have to see dead cold vs warmer. I live in Michigan and it’s getting cold for sure!

FWIW, my WRX STI also had a balky second gear when cold. And that was in Houston, where our "cold" is your "sweater weather".