Welcome to the Cadillac V-Series Forums!

Spring mountain- experienced racers?

BimmerFan

Seasoned Member
V-Series Cadillac(s)?
CT5-V BW 6spd
I'm having second thoughts about spring mountain, wanted to hear thoughts from folks who've been, who are experienced track drivers (racers, hpde, etc.). The corvette experience is a lot of basic stuff for people who have never been on track, like how to set options, check oil, use abs. I'm not sure if the cadillac experience is any better.

I'm an experienced hpde driver, instructor, and solo 1 racer. The flights, rental car, etc. are all more expensive than I had planned, plus I hate to fly these days, and I'm wondering if it's worth it.

Thoughts?

Like everything in life it depends on what your objectives are going into it. I look at the total experience, besides the track, the most enjoyable part was meeting and talking with a lot of nice people.

Since you’re going all the way out there, might as well take a tactical shotgun course as well.

The instructors said it’s very similar to the corvette course. So if you didn’t like that it’s going to be similar but in a blackwing.

yeah, been looking at the costs of flying, car rental, parking, etc. and trying to decide if it's worth it for me. Right no3w, it's a toss up between flying and driving. I love to drive, even for 7-10 hours straight. I've only got 7 track days over 3 years, so I'll definitely benefit from the practice, if nothing else than from my big issue which is braking too soon.

Yeah, well, that's a long list.
I relate. I’m in the boat where I have a lot of hobbies I’m fair at and not many I’m exceptional at. Long range shooting is my real passion, much more so the automobiles. With vehicles in the past I seem to spend more time modding than driving. - I finally gave up on that bug with my last two cars.

Last edited: