Welcome to the Cadillac V-Series Forums!

CT5-V CT5 Blackwing Oil potentially wrong?

CT5-V Model

nktn1985

V-Series Cadillac(s)?
2023 CT5 Blackwing
This is just a PSA for those that go to dealerships to have their oil changed - please ASK to see the oil they are putting in your car. I stopped by my normal dealership to pick up a few QUARTS of ESP / Supercar oil for top off at gas refuel. The gentleman brought out Mobil1 European Car Formula 0w-40 (pic attached) --- while I am still new to my BW I also knew GM calls for Mobil1 ESP Formula aka rebranded Supercar (pic also attached). I also had a Hellcat Charger and Trackhawk prior --- from a prior experience of wrongdoing I always double check stuff now to be safe.

I obviously questioned it bc the bottle they tried to sell me did not have approved DEXOS stamp per manual and some of the additives did not match ESP/Supercar formula from what I researched on Mobil1 website after. They based this on the weight 0w-40 matched specs and what GM sent and approved for them. Correct me if I am wrong please because IMO if it's not correct for our high performing cars the longevity of these cars may be compromised in due time.

He grabbed my VIN and it did pull up ESP/Supercar oil as expected but still eye opening that they admitted having been using potentially the wrong oil (at least in my opinion it was wrong). And I could be wrong out of sheer ignorance but better safe than sorry - therefore I am hoping to find out more from other members to either ease my concern that the oil they did offer is okay and or validate my concern that it is in fact wrong.

I called another dealership gave them my VIN and they supplied me the correct oil and part number. I raised this awareness with both Parts and Service to not call them out for any wrongdoing but to please kick it up the chain to ensure a potential oversight is resolved to reduce any future exposure both for them and the car owner.