Welcome to the Cadillac V-Series Forums!

Cadillac Smart Driver and Privacy Concerns

Throat Yogurt

Seasoned Member
V-Series Cadillac(s)?
2022 CT4-V Blackwing N0460548
First off, let me state that I am the farthest thing from a tinfoil hat/conspiracy theorist..I am an engineer with two feet firmly planted in reality. But this recently popped up on one of the Blackwing Facebook groups and it stopped me in my tracks. Here is the quote:

Ok so i’ve got a question on privacy issues from the My Cadillac app/vehicle gps.
So I ran a “LexisNexis” report on myself to review a personal insurance claim and in addition to listing many details about me, i have 867 records listed (thanks to GM…my only GM vehicle) in regards to either “high speed events, acceleration events or hard brake events”. I’ve had my 4bw since late July 2023. It doesn’t detail out specifically how i drove but it says which of these items the car did along with date and time. Insurance carriers review this stuff i believe.
From what i recall, i opted out of the onstar smart driver option and thought it might be a bit too intrusive when i acquired the car. Clearly that didn’t matter
Has anyone else ran this report and thus found similiar information listed? Would deleting the app help eliminate these recordings or is there any other reasonable way to eliminate the details of the tracking at all?

1. Anyone have a LexisNexis account and can confirm this?
2. I know GM is collecting data, I'm fine with that. I am NOT fine with that data being publicly accessible. I am also NOT fine with them collecting data when (in the case of the FB poster) the person has opted out of that data collection.
3. If this turns out to be true, that GM is collecting personal data and making it publicly accessible, does anyone know a good class action attorney?

You can request your free LN report here: Order Your Report Online - LexisNexis Risk Solutions Consumer Disclosure