Welcome to the Cadillac V-Series Forums!

Paint bubbling - warranty claim?

poor-sha

Seasoned Member
So I'm cleaning my car and I see that the rain gutter in the roofline is bubbling and it has an area of exposed primer. I can't tell if this is new or something I've just not seen because of where it is.

Since I picked up my car nearly a year ago, do I go back to the dealer and try to get it repaired under warranty? The car has ceramic coat on it but the roof doesn't have PPF.

20220822_203326328_iOS.jpg

I'm not a paint expert but it looks like a problem during the manufacturing process and preexisting. Like the paint gun did a fart right in that section. The unpainted areas are in a general section but are not fully connected to each other.

I feel like most paint bubbles/peeling appears to start from a small area and then spreads from that area.

However how did your ceramic guy miss that?

I agree with the above comments. Almost as if focal issues with prep prevented the paint from adhering properly. Very odd.

Wow.

Gotta agree with the others. They should take of that for you. At least it is in a hard to see spot.

Looks to me like there was some debris in this groove just as it was painted. Look at the small nubs in the paint below the affected area. If the debris was not just a solid (like something that had a solvent or oil residue) that could explain both issues. Fortunately, it's in a low visibility area and fixable... I would probably be as annoyed as you are too, however. Hope they get it fixed to your liking.

Crazy how it was missed when applying CC. Definitely bring it back to your dealer

good luck with everything

So I'm cleaning my car and I see that the rain gutter in the roofline is bubbling and it has an area of exposed primer. I can't tell if this is new or something I've just not seen because of where it is.