Welcome to the Cadillac V-Series Forums!

CT5-V Theft Attempt

CT5-V Model

itzdanielp

Whelp, they tried. They were not successful, but I'm not entirely sure (based off of other things I've read since) that I'm not just lucky, or they were incompetent.

2 questions;

First, has anyone had to replace the "static" portion of the back door window? I *think* it's GM Part 84933818 but would love confirmation, and approximate timeline / cost.

Second; Do any of you have contacts with GM Engineering? I'm a cyber security engineer and would love to further understand what specifically goes on between the car and the key, and what that negotiation looks like. The thieves did have some sort of computer or scanner plugged into my ODB-II Port before they got spooked and ran, and I'm trying to understand if they were able to gather enough information to come back with a forged key, or if they were just incompetent.

They would have to be near you and the FOB when you used it, to clone it.

@DCV - I wish that were true, but I'm not sure it is.

There is at least 1 report of a successful theft while the key was stored in a Faraday container; which doesn't necessarily preclude a previous encounter where the key was cloned, but seems unlikely.

Additionally, it is trivial for GM to create a replacement key which means the codes are either documented or otherwise listed and easily programmed. This is what I am most concerned about - were the thieves successfully able to gather enough information from the car's computer to clone a key and come back.

It would be great to understand how specifically the codes operate (e.g. are they static challenge / response, are they a time-bound rotating key, I don't believe they are cryptographic / PKI).

Forum discussing another stolen blackwing - https://www.**************.com/threads/2022-ct5v-blackwing-stolen.1130350